Daily Archives: 3 October 2010

Aimer Les Différences

I had quite the day yesterday, which probably wasn’t the best idea since I’m getting sick, but hey, it’s France, you can’t just sit around and let the world pass you by.

I woke up and decided I was going to completely plan out my day, and actually get something done for once. I researched online where I was gonna go, figured out lunch, everything. Until I went downstairs and changed my plans to eat lunch with a friend. I ended up waiting around a bit playing Mario Party on the Wii, I didn’t even know the foyer had a Wii. Then Rabi and I headed to McDonald’s, yes, McDonald’s. Not one of my best choices, but I figured I should try it at some point. The menu is very confusing because they don’t list out every possible option and price like in the US. Also, there is no mighty kids meal, because the size of the mighty kids meal is the largest size they have. So, I paid 5ish euros for 6 nuggets, fries, and a drink.  To order, somebody comes up to you in line with a little electronic pad and takes your order, then gives you a piece of paper with your number (just like that time at Wendy’s mom, only organized).  Also, we accidentally spilled my nuggets, and they were kind enough to give us new ones for free, which doesn’t always happen back home. There’s no condiment stand, so you have to ask for everything. We ate upstairs, which is less surprising since it’s in a city, but it looked soo much better than in the US. I guess I’m use to the old Mcdonalds, and not the refurbished ones with TVs and all that, but it was still much more classy than back home. However, the food wasn’t good at all. It was typical mcdonalds, nothing special, just made me miss Wendy’s even more.

After that, we headed out and got to see another strike! It was basically right next to the Mcdonalds, a huge parade of people with whistles, music, and tons of stickers. There were also a lot of kids. I guess if you gotta find something for the kids to do during the weekend, why not strike?

I ended up following my original plans a little and went shopping at Tati. Tati is basically Kohl’s, maybe cheaper. It has cooking supplies, beauty products, shoes, clothes, stuff for the house, everything. I bought a little water heater, so I can have tea without going down 7 stories for the microwave, 4 long sleeve shirts for layering, and a pair of shoes for 7 euros that I’m still not sure about. Their kinda stylish converses, but I’m not sure if there actually stylish or just attempting to be. The store was really crowded, but normal for a giant department store during the weekend.

Then I headed home, bought some kebab,  and headed out to nuit blanche. Nuit Blanche is basically a night in Paris where most of the monuments and museums are open really late (5am) and are free. There’s also tons of art around the city. We didn’t really plan anything out, but instead started at Saint Michel and figured we’d see what we could find. The first thing we saw was this awesome mini-marching band at Fontaine Saint-Michel. Basically they spent the whole time getting the crowd involved and playing awesome songs like “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”. They we’re all dressed in some form of bright yellow, obviously found in some random friend’s closet. It was lots of fun, but we eventually had to move on and meet up with people. We headed to Hotel de Ville where an artist had put Neon signs saying “Love Differences” in different languages all over Hotel de Ville. The idea was pretty cool, but the Neon signs looked kinda tacky to me. I tried to find a picture of it online, but so far all I could find were the official pictures that don’t let you link to them. But, the website is http://live.nuitblanche.paris.fr/nbgallery/gallery then click Zone then Zone Centre. Scroll through until you find the neon signs and that’s Hotel de Ville for Nuit Blanche. Or, here’s a poor quality youtube video:

Next we headed to Centre Georges Pompidou where we met up with some more people and went into the museum. To get into the actual museum you have to go up a bunch of escalators and at the top there’s an amazing view of the city. We got up there and the Eiffel Tower started it’s on the hour sparkle show, and it happened to be Midnight, so it was truly magical. Then we headed into the actual museum, I could have stayed there all night, just enjoying the modern art, but it wasn’t anything special for Nuit Blanche so we headed out to find something else.

We walked back to Saint Michel to meet up with Rabi, Eliza, and Zipeng. Then we went to some bridge turned into a work of art. It was covered with these giant mesh cubes, and then using light and sounds they added movement to the cubes. That doesn’t make sense at all, but basically we got to walk through this really cool really big work of art. It felt amazing. Here’s a video which makes more sense:

Also at that point I looked up and saw the Pleiades. Any time I see stars in Paris it’s amazing because normally there’s too much light pollution to see anything.

At that time it was around 2:30-3am. So, we decided it was time to trek home. The metro and buses weren’t working because it was so late, so we walked back to the foyer. It didn’t actually take that long since by that point we had wandered near Bastille anyway, which is the same walk I do every day to my stage.

So, that was my Nuit Blanche. I may not have seen a ton of the great exhibits, but I got to spend a night surrounded by art and awesome people so I don’t care. 🙂 It was an incredible night all the same.

